Gyeonghuigung Palace served as the secondary palace for the king. Situated on the west side of Seoul, it was called Seogwol, meaning “a palace of the west.”
During the latter half of the Joseon period, Gyeonghuigung Palace served as the secondary palace for the king. Situated on the west side of Seoul, it was also called Seogwol, meaning “a palace of the west.” The secondary palace was where the king moved to in times of emergency. The palace was built in 1617 by King Gwanghaegun in preparation for unexpected accidents.
It’s a large palace where many kings used to work and situated on the west side of Seoul, so it is called ‘The western palace’. It was demolished during Japanese colonial era and used as a school for the Japanese, so it lost its traces.
The restoration project began in 1988 and has been finding the old days by moving Heunghwa Gate, being used as the front gate for Shilla Hotel’s main entrance that had been relocated, and rebuilding Sungjeon Hall, which used to hold an official event.
The Seonggok Art Museum and the Seoul Museum of History are nearby, so visitors can take a walk.
The Five Palaces made during the Joseon Dynasty.
Historic Site No. 271 (Designated on September 16, 1980)
Mondays & January 1
Seoul Museum of History Parking Lot
– Cars with less than 20-person capacity
3,000 won for the first two hours / 400 won for every additional 5 min / 15,000 won all-day parking
– Cars with 20-person capacity or more
6,000 won for the first two hours / 800 won for every additional 5 min / 30,000 won for all-day parking